Morton Primary School

Welcome to the Governors’ page.

Who we are…

The Morton School Governors are a small team of local people that volunteer their time and skills to provide strategic direction for the school. Working closely with the Headteacher, we strive to ensure the best education for your child. Below you see who we are and what category of Governor we are as well as our roles.

What we do...

The governing body holds the senior leadership of the school to account and also continually ensures that the school delivers the best value for money for its pupils.

We recognise the importance of working closely with the Headteacher and staff, particularly in a small community like ours, and I’m confident that collectively we have the right skill set and experience to deliver your child the education they deserve and help them on their “Learning Laughing Achieving” journey.

Please feel free to contact any of us with any feedback you may have and help us to keep going from strength to strength.

Sam Watson,

Chair of Governors.


Governor Category Term Start Term End Committee
Mr Kevin Flint Headteacher Ex Officio SD & S
Mr Clive Lawton Co-opted Governor 29/04/2015 28/04/2019 RMC, SD & S
Mrs Lisa Baines Co-opted Governor 29/04/2015 28/04/2019 RMC
Mrs Christina Chipp Parent Governor 04/03/2014 03/03/2018 T & L
Mrs Vanessa Garcin Parent Governor 13/01/2015 12/01/2019 T & L
Mr Samuel Watson -Chair- Parent Governor 16/10/2016 15/10/2020 RMC
Mrs Catherine Wheatcroft Staff Governor 29/04/2019 28/04/2019 SD & S
Amanda Higton Clerk to Governors
RMC = Resource Management Committee / SD & S = School Develpoment Strategy / T & L = Teaching & Learning


Governors can be contacted by telephoning Morton Primary School on 01773 872360 or you can write to the following address:

Chair of Governors, Morton Primary School, Main Road, Morton, Alfreton, Derbyshire DE55 6HH


Morton Primary School

Main Road




DE55 6HH

01773 872360

HeadTeacher: Mr Kevin Flint